Castes of the United States

There are five castes, social groups with their own internal status system, in the US: Brahmin, Dalit, Helot, Optimate and Vaisya.

Status by caste:
Brahmin: Intellectual achievement and civic responsibility, concerned with social justice and civil liberties.
Optimate: Birth, breeding and personal character; money is necessary but not sufficient. Almost extinct.
Dalit: Men: Power, wealth and sexual success. Women: Attractiveness and popularity.
Helot: Men: Hard work, money and power. Women: Attractiveness, motherhood and association with high status men.
Vaisya: Men: Productive employment, successful family life and church or formal social group participation. Women: Attractiveness, motherhood and social participation.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.